The Last Time I Felt Butterflies

So subtle, yet so obvious

the butterfly takes flight

disturbing its surroundings,

unearthing

the dust, the air, the breeze

as it moves through the trees.

So subtle, yet so obvious.

Do you know what you do to me?

Every time I see you, bump into you,

feel you, hear you, even think that you’re near,

I immediately fear

that you’ll recognize me,

despise me, reject me, detest me

But I know that it’s just me

acknowledging my insecurities.

You’re the butterfly

and I’m your surroundings

hoping that you’ll always ground me.

My knees get weak, my my chest it beats

for you and only you.

Leave a Reply

